

17 December 2010

Mr. José Manuel Barroso, President of the European Commission Brussels, Belgium

Dear Mr. Barroso,

We are writing in response to the Commission's Communication of 19 October regarding the EU Budget Review. We would like to express our view that promoting renewable energy should receive much higher priority in future budgets than is currently envisaged.

Climate and energy issues receive a great deal of political attention within the EU, but the importance of these issues is not yet reflected in the EU budget. It is time for this to change.

These are not just ordinary issues. Climate change is likely to inflict increasingly intense droughts, heat waves and floods on Europe. It threatens our coastlines with sea-level rise, and will bring a flood of refugees to our shores. Meanwhile, our dependence on other regions for much of our fossil fuel supplies undermines our security.

A rapid shift to renewables can make Europe largely self-sufficient in energy, and can eliminate most of our greenhouse gas emissions. The recent *Roadmap 2050* study carried out by McKinsey and others for the European Climate Foundation showed that moving to a low carbon economy also makes good economic sense. Indeed, the study found that by 2050 using the free fuels of sun, wind and water, combined with energy efficiency measures, could save every European household as much as €1500 a year – or even more if fossil fuel prices rise sharply.

In the light of these imperatives, a significantly larger percentage of the budgets of the EU and the European Investment Bank should be devoted to promoting renewables. Among other urgent steps, more of our research funds should help to develop technologies such as cheaper solar panels and floating wind turbines. Rural development funds should help farmers deploy smallscale renewables. The EuropeAid budget should make promoting renewables in developing countries a top priority. And substantial funds should be devoted to supporting new long-distance grid connections to enable us to combine Europe's wind, solar, hydroelectric, geothermal and other renewable energy sources into a reliable supply for everyone.

We hope these priorities will feature more prominently in the draft Financial Perspectives due next year. We look forward to working with the Commission and the Council to shape a budget that fully reflects the crucial importance of climate and energy issues for the future of the European Union.

Yours sincerely,

Graham Watson, MEP, Chairman of the Climate Parliament

Lord Alderdice, United Kingdom,

Sonia Alfano, MEP,

Manuel Altava, Senator, Spain,

Lord Alton, United Kingdom,

Lord Archer of Sandwell, United Kingdom,

Kriton Arsenis, MEP,

Ida Auken, MP, Denmark,

Petras Austrevicius, MP, Lithuania,

Zigmantas Balcytis, MEP,

Petra Bayr, MP, Austria,

Catherine Bearder, MEP,

Thijs Berman, MEP,

Peter Bottomley, MP, United Kingdom,

Bruno Braakhuis, MP, Netherlands,

Franziska Brantner, MEP

Anne Brasseur, MP, Luxembourg,

Kathleen van Brempt, MEP,

Anita Brodén, MP, Sweden,

Cristian Busoi, MEP,

Algirdas Butkevičius, MP, Lithuania,

Jesús Caldera, MP, Spain,

Lord Cameron, United Kingdom

Maria da Graça Carvalho, MEP,

Michael Cashman, MEP,

Ole Vagn Christensen, MP, Denmark,

Matteo Colaninno, MP, Italy,

Anna Paola Concia, MP, Italy,

Simon Coveney, MP, Ireland,

Katy Clark, MP, United Kingdom,

Nic Dakin, MP, United Kingdom,

Chris Davies, MEP,

Louis Deguara, MP, Malta,

Lord Dholakia, United Kingdom,

Lord Dubs, United Kingdom,

Bill Newton Dunn, MEP,

Pia Olsen Dyhr, MP, Denmark,

Lena Ek, MEP,

Ioan Enciu, MEP,

Natascha Engel, MP, United Kingdom,

Ismail Ertug, MEP,

Hans-Josef Fell, MdB, Germany,

Pernille Frahm, MP, Denmark,

Laura Froner, MP, Italy,

Steen Gade, MP, Denmark,

Mike Gapes, MP, United Kingdom,

Andrew George, MP, United Kingdom,

Gerben Jan Gerbrandy, MEP,

Christina Gestrin, MP, Finland,

Ioan Ghise, Senator, Romania,

Marietta Giannakou, MEP,

Ana Gomes, MEP,

Sandro Gozi, MP, Italy,

Kinga Göncz, MEP,

Lord Goodhart, United Kingdom,

Fiona Hall, MEP,

Duncan Hames, MP, United Kingdom,

Mike Hancock, MP, United Kingdom,

Rebecca Harms, MEP,

Satu Hassi, MEP,

Anne Grete Holmsgaard, MP, Denmark,

Simon Hughes, MP, United Kingdom,

Lord Hylton, United Kingdom,

Eric Jadot, MP, Belgium,

Cornelis de Jong, MEP,

Antti Kaikkonen, MP, Finland,

Blaz Kavcic, MP, Slovenia

Franziska Keller, MEP,

Kimmo Kiljunen, MP, Finland,

Lord King, United Kingdom,

Egidijus Klumbys, MP, Lithuania,

Maros Kondrót, MP, Slovakia, Tõnis Kõiv, MP, Estonia,

Peeter Kreitzberg, MP, Estonia,

Jean Lambert, MEP,

Oláh Lajos, MP, Hungary,

John Leech, MP, United Kingdom,

Johan Linander, MP, Sweden,

Baroness Ludford, MEP,

Arminas Lydeka, MP, Lithuania,

Caroline Lucas, MP, United Kingdom,

Isabella Lövin, MEP,

Baroness Maddock, United Kingdom,

Helmuth Markov, MdB, Germany,

José Eduardo Martins, MP, Portugal,

Linda McAvan, MEP,

John McDonnell, MP, United Kingdom,

Liz McManus, MP, Ireland,

Michael Meacher, MP, United Kingdom,

Horst Meierhofer, MdB, Germany,

Anne-Marie Meldegaard, MP, Denmark,

Judith Merkies, MEP,

Attila Mesterházy, MP, Hungary,

Hugo Morán, MP, Spain,

Ingrid Nestle, MdB, Germany,

David Norris, Senator, Ireland,

Lars Ohly, MP, Sweden,

Jeffrey Pullicino Orlando, MP, Malta,

Jim O'Keeffe, MP, Ireland

Elsa Papademetriou, MP, Greece,

Antonyia Parvanova, MEP,

Sirpa Pietikäinen, MEP,

Gianni Pittella, MEP,

Pavel Poc, MEP,

Lord Rea, United Kingdom,

Lord Rennard, United Kingdom,

Michèle Rivasi, MEP,

Åsa Romson, MP, Sweden,

Paul Rübig, MEP,

Heide Rühle, MEP,

Adrian Sanders, MP, United Kingdom,

Diederik Samsom, MP, Netherlands,

Roberto Della Seta, Senator, Italy

Jonas Simenas, MP, Lithuania,

Marsha Singh, MP, United Kingdom,

Alyn Smith, MEP,

Owen Smith, MP, United Kingdom,

Thérèse Snoy, MP, Belgium,

Bart Staes, MEP,

Christos K. Staikouras, MP, Greece,

Ian Swales, MP, United Kingdom,

Katalin Szili, MP, Hungary,

Marc Tarabella, MEP,

Keith Taylor, MEP,

Lord Teverson, United Kingdom,

Baroness Tonge, United Kingdom,

Britta Thomsen, MEP,

Helga Trüpel, MEP

Ioannis Tsoukalas, MEP,

Claude Turmes, MEP,

Oras Tynkkynen, MP, Finland,

István Ujhelyi, MP, Hungary,

Viktor Uspaskich, MEP,

Ivo Vajgl, MEP,

Baroness Walmsley, United Kingdom,

Jim Walsh, Senator, Ireland,

Alan Whitehead MP, United Kingdom,

Christer Winbäck, MP, Sweden,

Baroness Williams, United Kingdom

Simon Wright, MP, United Kingdom,

Tim Yeo, MP, United Kingdom,

Uta Zapf, MdB, Germany,

cc: Mr. van Rompuy, President of the European Council,

Mr. Buzek, President of the European Parliament,

Mr. Cioloş, Commissioner,

Ms. Geoghegan-Quinn, Commissioner,

Mr. Lewandowski, Commissioner,

Mr. Hahn, Commissioner,

Ms. Hedegaard, Commissioner,

Mr. Oettinger, Commissioner,

Mr. Piebalgs, Commissioner

Mr. Potočnik, Commissioner